Fried fish tacos and bean salad with la vane

It was Tuesday, had to make tacos. But I wasn’t really in the mood for steak tacos (blasphemy). I decided to make fish tacos instead! They were SO good, but what isn’t good when it’s fried? I basically used a melange of recipes for this. For the fried fish, I used Norwegian cod (because it was on sale at whole foods) but would have used mahi mahi too. I used this recipe for the fish. I didn’t have garlic powder so I used garlic salt and I added waaay more cayenne than they called for because I wanted my fish spicy. For the sauce, I obviously didn’t make the sour-cream based one they suggest. Instead, I improvised. I knew I wanted a tartaresque sauce and I knew I wanted it to be spicy. I basically mixed mayo, pickle juice, lime juice, garlic, and cayenne pepper to taste. I served the fried fish with the sauce and avocado slices. Sprinkled some lime over the tacos before devouring them like it was the last thing I would ever do on this planet. So good. So full.

20140320-165748.jpg
Look at how happy Vane is!

This was an easy weeknight meal and actually easy to serve to a group of people (as per usual, I made enough for a small army).

BB

Leave a Reply

