Sausage shallot leek risotto with Kara

So like I told you before on gchat, I decided to make dinner with whatever I had on hand already- basmati rice, shallots, a leek, and sausage. It. Was. So. Good. The best risotto I’ve ever made. Kara said it was one of the best things she had ever eaten (probably out of politeness but maybe not because her plate was completely clean). So here’s what I did:

1. I used a couple of links of hot Italian sausage. Took the sausage out of the casing and browned in a pan for a bit. Then I added 1 cup of chicken broth mixed with 1 tablespoon of tomato paste to the sausage pan and let the sausage continue to cook for 2-3 more minutes.
2. While the sausage business was going on, I started prepping for the fake risotto. I used a shallot and a leek (instead of an onion). Here’s something that I think makes a big difference- I used both the white and green parts of the shallot. The white parts I sliced like I normally would and the green parts I chopped into small pieces it was almost minced.
3. Sautéed the shallot and leek mixture for a few minutes. Then added the rice and cooked until a little golden. Then I added the sausage and be oth to the pan and stirred until absorbed. Then added the white wine (~1/2 cup). Then the broth. And it was risotto cooking as per usual. Lots of stirring.

20140327-160630.jpg
The end product was incredible. Didn’t take a pic.

This is SO easy and you get a huge return for such little effort. Seriously make this.

XOXO bb

Leave a Reply

